FREE STANDARD SHIPPING WITH PURCHASES OF $60 OR MORE

LIMITED NUMBER - AUTOGRAPHED COPY — Victoria: A Novel of A Young Queen — by Daisy Goodwin

WE HAVE A LIMITED NUMBER OF AUTOGRAPHED COPIES. AUTHOR DAISY GOODWIN WAS IN DALLAS - WHERE WE ARE - IN JANUARY, 2018, TO APPEAR AT THE DALLAS MUSEUM OF ART'S ARTS & LETTERS LIVE SERIES. THE PHOTO BELOW WAS TAKEN DURING HER PRESENTATION. 

Also, we think you will enjoy the interview my husband, Bill, did with her (he also introduced her at the Dallas event) for his very popular blog — on both sides of The Pond — on British television and pop culture — Tellyspotting. Just click here to read the interview.

[Victoria] will sweep you away. It sumptuously brings to life the tale of Victoria's ascension to the throne, her battles with her mother and her relationship with her Prime Minister, Lord Melbourne. I loved the detail in this novel, and tore through it.
— Stylist (UK)

A hit…The research is impeccable, the attention to detail—from protocol to petticoats—perfect, and it brings the formidable figure of Victoria to sparkling life.
— Sunday Mirror (UK)

[An] irresistible love story…Fans of Downton, The Crown, etc., will want to dive right in.
— People

Drawing on Queen Victoria’s diaries, which she first started reading when she was a student at Cambridge University, Daisy Goodwin—creator and writer of the new PBS Masterpiece drama Victoria and author of the best-selling novels The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter — brings the young, nineteenth-century monarch, who would go on to reign for 63 years, richly to life in this magnificent novel.

Early one morning, less than a month after her eighteenth birthday, Alexandrina Victoria is roused from bed with the news that her uncle William IV has died and she is now Queen of England. The men who run the country have doubts about whether this sheltered young woman, who stands less than five feet tall, can rule the greatest nation in the world.

Despite her age, however, the young queen is no puppet. She has very definite ideas about the kind of queen she wants to be, and the first thing is to choose her name.

“I do not like the name Alexandrina,” she proclaims. “From now on, I wish to be known only by my second name, Victoria.”

Next, people say she must choose a husband. Everyone keeps telling her she’s destined to marry her first cousin, Prince Albert, but Victoria found him dull and priggish when they met three years ago. She is quite happy being Queen with the help of her prime minister, Lord Melbourne, who may be old enough to be her father, but is the first person to take her seriously.

On June 19th, 1837, she was a teenager. On June 20th, 1837, she was a queen. Daisy Goodwin’s impeccably researched and vividly imagined new book brings readers Queen Victoria as they have never seen her before.

BOOK DESCRIPTION

  • Condition: New. Hardcover - Glued binding.
  • Edition: Hardback - Published November 22, 2016
  • Publisher: St. Martins Press / USA
  • ISBN-13: 978-1250045461
  • Pages: 416
  • Dimensions: 6.6" W x 1.4" D x 9.6" L inches 
  • Rating:★★★★1/2 (See FAQs)

Daisy Goodwin

ABOUT THE AUTHOR - DAISY GOODWIN

In addition to being the author of this novel, Victoria, Daisy Goodwin is the  creator and screenwriter of the Masterpiece presentation Victoria on PBS. She also is the author of the the New York Times bestsellers, The American Heiress and The Fortune Hunter. She attended Columbia University's film school as a Harkness scholar after earning a degree in history at Cambridge University.

In her own words:

When I was eighteen I went to Cambridge University to study history. my first assignment was Queen Victoria and the media. I went to the library to consult her diaries. She wrote 62 million words in her lifetime, and as I pulled out the first leather bound volume, I felt overwhelmed by its size and weight.

But then it fell open at the entry for 3rd Nov 1839, " I saw me dearest Albert who was all wet in his white cashmere breeches with nothing on underneath." As I laughed out loud, the other readers looked at me in disapproval. Queen Victoria, I decided then, was not the boot-faced old bag with a bonnet I had imagined, but a woman after my own heart.

All my novels have been set in the Victorian era: The American Heiress is about a dollar princess called Cora Cash who marries an English duke; The Fortune Hunter is the story of Sisi, the beautiful Austrian Empress who came to England to hunt - in the novel Sisi meets Victoria.

I enjoyed writing this encounter so much - Victoria's voice came so easily to me, that I decided that my next novel would be about the young Victoria. But as I started writing it, I thought it would make a great TV drama, which is how I ended up writing the PBS Masterpiece series Victoria, as well as my novel, Victoria, A Novel of a Young Queen.

When I am not immersed in the nineteenth century, I live in London with three dogs, two daughters and a husband.


Related Items